Tuesday, September 20, 2022

2022 Autumn Equinox—Libra Ingress, Timing

2022 Autumn Equinox—Libra Ingress

The Autumnal (Southward) Equinox, Sun enters Libra (Sun at 0° Libra),and Maybon (Holy Day; if intrigued, enter Maybon into a search engine).

September 23, 2022
01:03:33 UTC, Time Zone
02:04 am London, United Kingdom
BST (UTC +1)

September 22, 2022
09:04 pm Boston, MA
EDT (UTC -4)
08:04 pm Minneapolis, MN
CDT (UTC -5)
07:04 pm Santa Fe, NM
MDT (UTC -6)
06:04 pm Sacramento, CA
PDT (UTC -7)
03:04 pm Honolulu, HI
HST (UTC -10) [3:03:33 pm]

Image courtesy of filamentlearning dot com

At the Equinox, the Sun shines directly on the equator, and there are nearly equal amounts of day and night worldwide. This is the first day of Fall (Autumnal Equinox) in the northern hemisphere and the first day of Spring (Vernal Equinox) in the southern hemisphere. The Sun's rays shine directly over the Earth's equator twice a year. The Sun rises and sets exactly due east and west on the equinoxes. Instead of the Earth tilting away from or toward the Sun, its axis of rotation becomes perpendicular to the line connecting the Earth's and the Sun's centers. The nights get longer from Autumnal Equinox to Winter Solstice (December 21-22).

The Wheel Turns Toward Darkness.
The energies of the Dark Gods and Goddesses begin to increase and gain attention. The balance described by the Taoist symbol of Yin and Yang reflects the Equinoxes. Still, an imbalance starts at the point of Equinox as night begins to overtake daylight's duration. The processes of inward turning gain significance. Persephone returns to her throne with Hades in the Underworld.

Earth's relationship with the central Sun cycles rhythmically through the Centuries. That essential relationship of Earth to the Sun establishes a core pattern that is the basis of Tropical Astrology. The Signs are determined and positioned by the rhythm of the Solstices and Equinoxes. Each quarter of the year between a Solstice and an Equinox holds three Signs.

While night and day are in balance, Equinox may offer a time to evaluate the place of balance in our lives. It is a great time to work on personal balance, re-evaluate where you are, and take the steps necessary to get your emotional and spiritual lives in order.

A reminder: in a few weeks, on November 6, 2022 - Daylight Saving Time Ends – turn clocks back one hour, and 2:00 am becomes 1:00 am.
Sunday, November 6, 2022, 2:00:00 am clocks are turned backward 1 hour to
Sunday, November 6, 2022, 1:00:00 am local standard time instead.

Thursday, August 4, 2022

2022 Lammas/Lughnasadh, Leo, 15° 00’

2022 Lammas/Lughnasadh, Leo, 15° 00’ 00”
Ingress, Aug 7, 2022
12:29:00 PM GMT/UT

Aug 7, 2022 AD GC
12:29 PM GMT/UT
01:29 PM BST London
08:29 AM EDT Washington DC
07:29 AM CDT Chicago
06:29 AM MDT Albuquerque
05:29 AM PDT San Francisco
02:29 AM AHST Honolulu

Via The Farm Witch

Lammas/Lughnasadh
The “Cross-Quarter” day, and festival of Lammas or Lughnasadh, is technically August 6-7 (the astronomical center between Summer Solstice and Autumn Equinox). Then the Sun reaches the middle degree of the Fixed Sign, Leo. Thanks to calendar changes, the two-day festival often begins on July 31 at sundown. It marks the traditional “blessing of the bread,” made of the first grain harvest of the year. It is the third of the four fire festivals of the year. These are frequently times of significant celebration and reverence celebrated by some Celtic or earth-based religions.

Lugh is a sun deity. Lughnasadh celebrates the midsummer harvest in the Northern Hemisphere (midwinter in the Southern Hemisphere). Nasad suggests harvest festivals, fairs, and games. Celebration often begins on the eve of the day preceding.

The “Cross Quarter” times midway between Equinox and Solstice points occur at 15° 00’ of the Fixed Signs, Taurus for Beltane (May Day, Roodmas, Walpurgisnacht), Leo for Lammas or Lughnasadh (harvest festivals and fairs, the Loaf Mass), Scorpio for Samhain (Hallowe’en, All Souls Day, El Día de Los Muertos), and Aquarius for Imbolc (Candlemas,
Ground Hog Day, Feast of the Purification, Feast of St. Brigit).

Wheel of the Year: A Simple Lughnasadh or Lammas Ritual - Exemplore
Via exemplore    


Those who find importance in the actual sun-earth relationship pay attention to the exact day and time the Sun reaches the 15th degree. The days of typical celebrations don’t always correspond to the precise season’s midpoint but remind us of it.

Lammas (Loaf Mass) or Lughnasadh (Loo-nas-ah) is the third of the four fire festivals held at solstice and equinox midpoints. This one is at the Leo midpoint (15° Leo), twixt Summer solstice (Cancer), and Fall equinox (Libra).

For most of history, it was not possible to calculate the exact midpoint in time that marks midsummer. Now it is possible to get that time. Often additional factors like a new or a full moon might be part of the decision regarding when to light a festival fire. Do not think it wrong to celebrate or recognize the cross-quarter at a time other than the precise midway summer point.

Saturday, June 18, 2022

2022 SUMMER SOLSTICE

TIMING THE 2022 SUMMER SOLSTICE

Summer (Northward) Solstice - Cancer Ingress

Called Litha (Norse/Anglo-Saxon for "longest day")

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/17/80/63/1780636374d1795919050d4c6bd8214e.png 

The still moment in the still moment.

For three days the sun’s places of rising and setting appear the same. The etymology of the word solstice is from Latin, sol, “sun” and stice, past participle of sistere, "stand still.” The exact moment of the change of orientation of Earth to our star is calculable and the precise timing is offered here.

Tuesday, June 21, 2022

UTC
(Time Zone)
09:13:42 am GMT/Zulu

London
(United Kingdom – England)
10:13:42 am BST UTC +1

Washington DC
(District of Columbia)
05:13:42 am EDT UTC-4 hours

New Orleans
(Louisiana)
04:13:42 am CDT UTC-5 hours

Denver
(Colorado)
03:13:42 am MDT UTC-6 hours

Seattle
(Washington)
02:13:42 am PDT UTC-7 hours

Monday, June 20, 2022 Hawaii

Wailuku (Hawaii)
11:13:42 pm HST UTC-10 hours

The Sun reaches the maximum north it will on June 20. It will appear to stand still and begin dropping south toward the equator while the length of daylight shortens. (Please see the illustration.) The line the Sun reaches northward is known as the Tropic of Cancer. The Sun at noon is very nearly over Cuba at 23.5° north longitude. At noon on the Winter Solstice the Sun is approximately over Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in the Southern Hemisphere. There it reaches the Tropic of Capricorn at 23.5° South, the furthest South the Sun goes. In either direction when the sun crosses the equator we have an autumn or spring equinox.

The Summer Solstice is known as the longest day and shortest night since it provides the northern hemisphere’s greatest period of a day’s sunlight. At the Summer Solstice, the northern hemisphere assumes its most direct tilt facing into the Sun. Earth's mean obliquity (or axial tilt) was 23°26′11.570″ (23.4365472133°) on January 1, 2021 and decreasing (very slowly).

https://1.bp.blogspot.com/-HHAOeT-kt2o/YMwWxFJO5eI/AAAAAAAAB34/x6NuGXRq_HwzR4PHJhg607VFSO17slN9wCLcBGAsYHQ/w640-h396/EarthOrbit%255B1%255D.png 

It is sometimes regarded as the “Triumph of the Light,” of Sol. Daylight reaches the peak of its reach through time. We celebrate the exuberance with pool parties, picnics, and barbecues. At the same time, we realize this is the beginning of an increase in darkness. From this point, daytime will wane in comparison with night. The night gains but remains secondary to the more extended day until equality at the Autumn Equinox when night begins to be longer than day.

“The Solstices then are a time to stop, and to look back on where the half-yearly cycle has brought you, and a chance to look forward and see the direction in which the next half-yearly cycle may lead you; a moment to be conscious of your life's flow and direction; a time to express your hopes and fears, your intentions; to assimilate your learnings and celebrate your achievements; a time to celebrate the light; a time to celebrate the dark; a moment to be conscious of the way this waxing and waning of the Sun affects our lives, and to celebrate this duality and what it means to us.

“When the light is increasing from Winter Solstice to Summer Solstice, all beings are moving out into the light, becoming more individual and independent, expressing their own identity and uniqueness, expanding outwards into the material world. But as the light is decreasing from Summer Solstice to Winter Solstice, nature and life as a whole is integrating itself into a more social way of life, going within, reflecting and becoming more intuitive, expanding into the inner realms - exploring inner wisdom.”

– from Sacred Celebrations by Glennie Kindred

A horoscope calculated for the solstice is one of those used by astrologers to evaluate the Summer season (until the Autumn Equinox or to the Winter Solstice). Astro-meteorologists use it as a “temperature chart,” one of the keys to weather prediction. I use the precision personally and privately to honor the moment.

DOWN UNDER

Are you south of the equator? Then WELCOME WINTER! The Summer Solstice in the north is the Winter Solstice in the south. The solstices mark stillness in anticipation of change.

Happy Solstice! Blessed Litha!

Thursday, March 17, 2022

2022 Vernal Equinox



TIMING THE 2022 VERNAL EQUINOX

The 2022 Vernal (Northward) Equinox, Start of Spring, Aries Ingress

The moment of the Spring Equinox in several time zones

For the ritually oriented and the curious, here are 2022 Spring Equinox times for Greenwich and the USA.

Sunday, March 20, 2022

3:33 pm UTC (GMT)

London 3:33 PM GMT

Dublin 3:33 PM GMT

(Daylight Saving Time (DST) starts in Europe, Sunday, March 27, 2022)

Washington DC 11:33 AM EDT UTC -4 hours

Minneapolis 10:33 AM CDT UTC -5 hours

Salt Lake City 9:33 AM MDT UTC -6 hours

Phoenix 8:33 AM MST UTC -7 hours (no DST)

Los Angeles 8:33 AM PDT UTC -7 hours

Hilo (Hawaii) 5:33 AM HST UTC -10 hours


The Vernal Equinox, also known as Ostara, or Eostre, or Eastre, is named for the Germanic Goddess of spring and dawn. When the Sun's path along the Ecliptic crosses the Celestial Equator (the plane of Earth’s equator extended into space) from the South to the North we have the Vernal Equinox, the first day of Spring, zero degrees of Aries. [GRAPHIC] The longer nights of the winter season are now in equal balance with daylight. From this point, the length of daylight increases. It is the beginning point of the Zodiac that astrologers use for measure. 

Ostara, Germanic goddess of Spring

All points in the eight-fold year (defined by the astronomical measure of solstices, equinoxes, and the midpoints between those) are marked by human celebrations, holidays, and holy days. Those coincidental celebrations are not accidental but knowingly or circumstantially correspond to the astronomical. There are holy days with the Jewish and Christian calendars (also with Chinese, Hindu, and other systems of reckoning) that combine New and Full Moons with solstices and equinoxes. For example, the Full Moon after the Spring (Vernal) Equinox is Passover. The Sunday following that Full Moon is Easter (the preceding Friday is Good). For the Persians, the Equinox is New Years, Noruz. 

Ostara by Johannes Gehrts

Some astrologers chart the Vernal Equinox (Aries Ingress) and derive information about at least three and at most twelve months following. Other astrologers favor the Winter Solstice (Capricorn Ingress) for the twelve months following that event. Many mundane astrologers will chart all four, Solstices and Equinoxes, and utilize those charts for a sense of the three months that follow each. The chart for the first day of Spring is said to be in effect, for the year until next Spring. It is considered especially strong until the Summer Solstice chart "comes in" in June. Tropical zodiac positions are always measured from the Vernal Equinox.

Happy Spring!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yz3lqVv0vCE

“The Mummers' Dance” is a single by Canadian Celtic singer Loreena McKennitt from the 1997 album “The Book of Secrets.” The song refers to the seasonal Mummers Play performed by groups of actors, often as house-to-house visits.

[Verse 1]

When in the springtime of the year
When the trees are crowned with leaves
When the ash and oak and the birch and yew
Are dressed in ribbons fair

When owls call the breathless moon
In the blue veil of the night
The shadows of the trees appear
Amidst the lantern light

[Chorus]

We've been rambling all the night
And some time of this day
Now returning back again
We bring a garland gay

[Verse 2]

Who will go down to those shady groves
And summon the shadows there
And tie a ribbon on those sheltering arms
In the springtime of the year

The songs of birds seem to fill the wood
That when the fiddler plays
All their voices can be heard
Long past their woodland days

[Chorus]

We've been rambling all the night
And some time of this day
Now returning back again
We bring a garland gay

[Verse 3]

And so they linked their hands and danced
Round in circles and in rows
And so the journey of the night descends
When all the shades are gone

A garland gay we bring you here
And at your door we stand
It is a sprout well budded out
The work of our Lord's hand

[Chorus]

We've been rambling all the night
And some time of this day
Now returning back again
We bring a garland gay

We've been rambling all the night
And some time of this day
Now returning back again
We bring a garland gay



A technical point:

In tropical astrology, degrees are measured from the always-receding Vernal Equinox; each year the Vernal Equinox occurs 50.23 seconds of a degree EARLIER than the year before. This amounts to approximately 5 minutes of a degree every 6 years. Thus any point (a fixed star, for instance) that is, say, at 5 degrees and 10 minutes of tropical Aries in a given year, 6 years later will be at 5 degrees and 15 minutes of tropical Aries, BECAUSE THE DISTANCE BETWEEN THAT POINT AND THE VERNAL EQUINOX HAS INCREASED, and tropical positions are always measured from the Vernal Equinox. This is why precession corrections are added, not subtracted, as time goes on. -- Diana K Rosenberg writing in ISAR Email letter Volume 336, May 15, 2005



2022 Autumn Equinox—Libra Ingress, Timing

2022 Autumn Equinox—Libra Ingress The Autumnal (Southward) Equinox, Sun enters Libra (Sun at 0° Libra),and Maybon (Holy Day; if intrigue...